Mission & Overview

Mission Statement

It is the mission of the Fauquier County Water and Sanitation Authority to provide central water and sewer services to both existing and future customers at the lowest practicable rates, consistent with the County's Comprehensive Plan, that meets or exceeds the quality of the requirements established by Commonwealth and Federal regulatory standards.
Authority Overview
The Fauquier County Water and Sanitation Authority (the “Authority”) is an independent political subdivision of the Commonwealth empowered by the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act - § 15.2-5100 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, 1950 and as amended, to provide public utilities throughout the County of Fauquier and is not a department of Fauquier County.
The Authority was first chartered in 1964 and incorporated for a period of fifty years. In 1975, the Authority was re-incorporated for a fifty year period through 2025. The Authority is governed by a five member Board. Individual Board Members are appointed by the Fauquier County Board of Supervisors and serve for a term of four years. The Authority derives no revenues from County taxes. The Authority's operating expenses are funded by its customers, through its Service Fees. The Authority’s capital expenses are funded by builders and the development community, through its Availability Fees.
The Authority owns and operates sixteen public water systems in the areas of New Baltimore, Bealeton, Catlett, Marshall, Paris, Turnbull, The Plains, Opal and Remington, Virginia, serving a total of approximately 9,350 customer accounts. The Authority also owns and operates three public sewer systems with a 2.0 Million Gallon per Day (“MGD”) Wastewater Treatment Plant (“WWTP”) in Remington, Virginia, a 0.64 MGD WWTP in Marshall, Virginia and a 0.950 MGD WWTP at Vint Hill Farms, Virginia, serving a total of approximately 8,500 customer accounts.

Authority By-Laws:

The Authority's By-Laws may be found here: FCWSA By-Laws Revised 06/25/19